Loading... Please wait...

Local Honey Athletes

Kimberly Gomez

Hometown: Santa Cruz, CA

Birthday/Zodiac sign:

August 21, 1978/Leo.


Pearson Arrow

Tell us about growing up in Santa Cruz

I feel very blessed to have grown up in Santa Cruz. Every weekend from the age of 2 years and on was spent hanging at the beach. At the age of 9 my parents recognized my love for the ocean and decided to sign me up for Santa Cruz City Jr. Guards program. From that moment I was hooked to training on the beach every summer with good friends. In my teenage years I started swimming competitively for one of the swim clubs in town which lead to an athletic swimming scholarship to the University of Washington.

How did you first get into SUP?

My love for the water has been in my blood from the very beginning.
After the birth of my third child in September of 2009 we took a trip to Hawaii I remember looking out at a group of stand up paddlers and thinking I want to try walking on water. A few years passed and the simple introduction of SUPing in Hawaii blossomed into a passion of paddling around the ocean waters in Santa Cruz. Being competitive in the water has always been something I felt natural doing and enjoy. SUPing opened another door for enjoying the ocean and all it has to offer.

What are some of your personal goals?

My personal goal is to keep my love for the ocean flowing, weather it be swimming around a point, paddling across a channel or just hanging with my friends surfing the local break.

Most exciting moment of your life (so far):

The most exciting moments in my life have been the birth of my three girls (Eva age 9, Sofia age 7 and Veronica age 5) With baby girl #4 due in October I look forward to experiencing another exciting moment with our family.

What inspires you?

The things that inspire me are watching athletes compete at the top level in any sport. I love watching both the Summer and Winter Olympics.

Who is someone you look up to in the industry?

The person I look up to most within the SUP industry is Bob Pearson, a long time family friend his passion for the ocean and smile are contagious.

Favorite board?

My favorite board is any surf or SUP board shaped by Bob. I can't live without Aloha.

How would you describe yourself as a child?

Describe myself as a child "easy going as long as water was within reach"

What is it that you absolutely can't live without?


Favorite Animal?

Chocolate Brown Lab.

Favorite Food?


If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

If I could live anywhere it would be near the ocean with family and good friends.