Loading... Please wait...

Local Honey Athletes

local-honey-natali-zollinger.jpgNatali Zollinger

Hometown: Moab, Utah

Birthday/Zodiac sign:

December 28-----> Double Cap baby with a rising Libra


Hala Gear, Kialoa, Jen-ai Clothing, NexStraps

Tell us about growing up in Tremonton Utah:

Worst place ever. :) Not really, but kind of. It made me who I am now....but I had to work hard for it. I am the youngest of 11 kids (Mormon Family). We grew up on a farm and I worked...and worked and worked. I learned how to drive a combine before I was baptized. I bailed hay and raised steers (male cows) during the summers, when all my friends got to hang out and swim. So, my work ethic is pretty good, which has helped me as I have gotten older. I definitely have no regrets, I feel pretty lucky for the experiences I've gotten up until this point.

How did you first get into the water?

:) hmm...pretty much when I was born I loved the water. I swam everyday I could when I was younger, I joined the swim team in high school, I was the goalie for our water polo team, I dove my junior and senior year of high school, and life guarded and taught swim lessons for my job. Once I graduated I life guarded in college, the turned to Rugby. I must have needed to get out some real anger I guess. I took a trip to the southwest and went on a river trip. That week changed my life. I then became a river guide and studied Geology of the rivers canyons. I got into the desert life, and moved to Moab. From there, I started to see SUP on the river, was super curious, and then decided I had to try it out. Well, that was 4 years ago, I left river guiding and have never looked back. I'm hooked! I want to progress the sport in every way! SUP, as well as SUPYOGA and SUPFITNESS. I love how ANYONE can do it, ANYWHERE and ANYTIME. It's such a great skill, helps maintain your balance, and gets people outside. It provides some of the most AMAZING pictures, and connects people all over the world together under one recreation.

What are some of your personal goals?

Longevity. I'd like to keep my strength, balance, and stamina as long as I can. I'm a firm believer that if you don't use it, you'll lose it. I've lost alot of things growing up, so I like to fight for the things worth fighting for...like our HEALTH!
I'd like to travel around more. I'd like to race for a few more years. I love the lifestyle, especially the river lifestyle. It's so much fun, and the racers are like family. We travel from race to race, and you start to become real close. I'd like to improve my flat water racing technique so it can help me more in the whitewater scene. I'd like to live in a bikini my whole life...and with being an ambassador for Local Honey...I might be able to make that happen. MY DREAMS ARE CLOSER...to coming true with a little more *honey* on the path ;)

Most exciting moment of your life (so far):

Well, recently, were my results from this years sup race season! I had no anticipation that I would place on podium at all. But I was really happy with my results! Top 10 in every race, and a few of them I podiumed!

What inspires you?

My family. My friends. My community. People that go for their dreams, and never look back. Those who can motivate anyone they meet to get up and move. Nature...especially water is my ultimate inspiration. It humbles me everyday...it provides comfort and support, but can also thrash your ego down in the same second. It forces you to live in the moment...which is the best place to live in!

Who is someone you look up to in the industry?

This is hard. Once I knew I wanted to race, I started to befriend and follow alot of SUP athletes. I started to follow Gillian Gibree, Candace Appleby, and some other whitewater girls like Nikki Gregg, Brittany Parker, and Haley Mills. These girls are real, they love what they do, and they are bad asses in the sport. I love their determination and passion for the sport. They motivate me to push myself everyday...and never look back :)

Favorite surfboard?

HalaGear Boards. All of them...most recently the Playa. It's an inflatable Surf Sup perfect for the ocean life...from catching waves to paddle sprints out passed the break, it's a great board for the salty mermaid!

How would you describe yourself as a child?

Hard working. Free spirit. Independent. Athletic. Outdoorsy. Lovable

What is it that you absolutely can't live without?

My CONSUELA (theracane) or Girlfriend in Spanish :) It's a cane that I use for deep tissue massage. What's great is you can do it yourself while walking, sitting, watching t.v., or driving. It saves me alot of money on massage, and I can work out all my knots in my back myself. It's the best investment EVER! :)

Favorite Animal?

It depends on the season... I like to rotate between Birds in the spring and fall like Osprey, Ravens, and Hawks to Dolphins in the summer season.. I'm a seasonal animal. ;)

Favorite Food?

SUSHI...always and forever

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Again, I need seasons. Desert Southwest in the spring and fall, and Beach in the Winter and Summer!

Next Destination?

Sayulita Mexico. It's time to get real as an athlete. 2015 is about training hard. I plan to live there this winter (January-February) to train and promote my business. Then Desert Southwest for March-September train for whitewater and flat water races!

Social Network:

Instagram: @Nautilussup
Twitter: @Nautilus2sup
Facebook: Natali Zollinger and Nautilus SUP